Starting Uni and Other Excuses for Not Blogging in a While

This is the main building at my uni, and yes I admit I have pretended in my head that I’m at Hogwarts

Well it’s been well over a month since my last blog post and whilst I’ve never posted terribly frequently I don’t think I’ve ever left it this long between posts. The last few weeks have flown by and have been so busy that I haven’t even had time to think about sitting at a computer and typing.

That’s going to have to change very soon, as I started university two weeks ago and I have no doubt that deadlines for essays will soon be set! I’m studying Geography at Royal Holloway so if anyone has studied it before or you have any general tips for studying at uni they will be greatly appreciated.

I’ve had the most amazing time at fresher’s week, I’ve enjoyed it so much, and I’m pleased to be living in halls with a group of friendly, interesting and fun loving people. It’s my first time living away from home, which is a bit strange after living with only my mum, dad and my brother for my whole life but we are all getting along famously (at the moment! Haha!) and so far no food’s gone missing from the fridge and more importantly neither has the vodka!

The best moment for me so far has been the night of my 20th birthday (no, I can’t believe I’m 20 either). My flatmates, who I had only known for a few days, ordered in some pizza’s and decorated the kitchen which was fantastic and made me really feel at home in our flat. That’s in stark contrast to our weekly early morning fire alarms, but its swings and roundabouts I suppose.

I’ve also discovered the wonders of Skype, which is where I can be found when I’m not at a lecture, or a party, or reading as many geographical papers as possible. It’s allowed me to keep in contact with my family and friends at other universities and at home, which makes settling in here in Egham so much easier.

So that’s briefly what I’ve been up to in the last few weeks since I blogged, and my excuses for not posting in such a long time.  Hopefully I’ll get some more posts done soon, I hope everyone who read’s this is well too!

Leave a Reply

