A Taste of Tuscany

I’ve just got back from a short but fantastic trip to Tuscany. I was with my Dad a few other people for some  wine tasting on the Zonin estates, which was a great experience. I’ve been to Tuscany before, but this was the first time learning about wine making and the stories of the historic, mediaeval vineyards. Each wine tasting was accompanied by food which was best suited to the wine; and we got to eat in beautiful homes on the estates such as Castello d’Albolo. We were in the Chianti region of  Tuscany, where the famous Chianti Classico wine is made with San Giovese grapes that have ripened under the Tuscan sun. Here’s a selection of photos which I took on the trip which best represent the beautiful Tuscan countryside.

 

San Giovese vineyards at Castello d’Albolo

 

These scooters can be seen shooting about all over Italy!

 

My favourite pasta dish – Papardelle con Ragu

 

In the gardens at Castello d’Albolo

 

The tourist hotspot of San Gimignano

Vegetable gardens outside Castello d’Albolo

4 thoughts on “A Taste of Tuscany

  1. Oh I love all things Italian, I’m planning to move over in the next 2 years, it’s so lovely to see such beautiful pictures! Thanks for indulging my love affair 😉 I hope you had a lovely time, it certainly reads as though you did. 🙂

    • Thank you for your comment and reblog Chelsea! Do it – you can only completely learn about a culture when you’re living in it 🙂 I did have a great time, I’ve been before but never to learn about wine making, it was a great new experience. 🙂

  2. Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea shell and gave
    it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.

    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic
    but I had to tell someone!

Leave a Reply

