Are A Levels and studying really that important?

I went back to sixth form this Wednesday, full of both hope and dread. It’s my final year of A Levels, my last chance to get the ridiculously high grades expected of me to get into a decent university, where I hope to be going next September. Despite having two months away from studying which included a fantastic trip to Indonesia, I still don’t feel ready to settle down into the swing of studying, writing personal statements and worrying about the amount of UCAS points that I have.  I think the trip to Indonesia is partly due to that.

I’ve always had a clear path in mind for my life: get really good grades, get to uni, do a degree and somehow experience travel and become extremely rich at the same time.  But is all that really important?

Well of course it’s important to be intelligent and intellectual, and to experience different cultures, and to some degree have a good amount of money (you all know the saying, money doesn’t buy happiness but I’ll rather cry in a Ferrari) but the biggest thing I want is to always be as happy as I am now, or more if at all possible.

A beer and a good sunset with great friends, all you need in life.

I’m not going to be one of those bloggers who writes about wanting to be happy all the time, but I have realised that a lot of what we stand for in the Western world is not all that is needed to be happy.  In Indonesia, I met some of the happiest, friendliest people I have ever met. Although they lack things us Westerners take for granted, such as  constant supply of electricity to charge our Blackberry’s and iPhones on, and new cars to drive us to shopping centres, the people I met really valued and were made happy by some of the most simple and yet most beautiful things in life. Things like living in a community full of friends and family to protect you, enjoying a nice cold beer whilst watching an awesome sunset, and even taking the time to cook a meal for your friends.

But what does this have to do with A levels? The point I’m trying to make is that you don’t have to worry too much about getting a piece of paper to say that you are successful. Sure, aspirations and dreams are essential in life, but remember it’s not all about getting the best job, or the flashiest car.

So, as many of you go back to colleges and sixth forms, remember to work hard to achieve everything you want to do, but also enjoy the many things around you that will make you happy.

Now, I should stop procrastinating and get on with something decent to do…..

2 thoughts on “Are A Levels and studying really that important?

  1. Lovely Andrea! You know this is also my train of thought as I have spoken of it often in posts. Travel is fabulous for making you not just realise that all the ‘fluff’ isn’t important, but also making you FEEL it too.
    My time in South Africa changed my whole perspective on life & now it doesn’t matter if I have this or that….as long as my family is around me & we are laughing and happy. Some people chase the ‘stuff’ their whole lives, only to be miserable.
    Get your degree etc but whatever comes after that is a means to an end. You will have to pay bills and the occasional treat is good but you will never have the craving for the pointless.
    People are what matters & I’m so glad you feel it in your heart. You get back from your travels & our way of life seems pointless…it is. Lovely post…keep it up young man!

  2. I’m glad you liked this post! I think experiencing something that’s different to your everyday life lets gives you the chance to take a step back and see things differently. We’re in a constant state of education and learning but sometimes looking at a textbook isn’t the best place to be looking for it.
    I definitely want to go to uni, but I think being able to experience things like travel really does open your eyes to the world around you!

Leave a Reply

